As 2016 comes to an end I think it’s customary to make a list of the best movies. Please keep in mind that I haven’t seen every single movie that came out in 2016. These are the ones that I saw and I felt made a mark in the history of cinema. If you don’t see your favourite movie in this list, well. They may appear in the “Top 10 WORST movies of 2016”. Oh yeah! There will be a list for that too. Jokes apart, this is just my view. If I would have written “Top 10 best movies of 2016 according to me because I haven’t seen all the movies and my opinion may vary with yours”, would it have sounded cool? No right? So yes, this is my top 10 best movies. It may vary with yours so don’t nuke my home because you disagree with me. Please.

#10Udta Punjab – This movie had a ton of trouble releasing because of the harsh reality it was showing to our audience. The release of the movie coincided with the Punjab elections and as the politicians are so into movies, they took a special interest in this one thus giving it the necessary hype. A compelling story coupled with ground-breaking performances by Alia Bhatt and Shahid Kapoor, this movie was certainly one of the highlights in Bollywood this year.

#9Phobia – Horror had become a redundant genre in Bollywood until this movie came. It brought a much needed revival to a genre getting monopolised by the Bhatts but also serving as an annual job for some actresses I won’t name. Standout performance by Radhika Apte and amazing use of the method of ‘controlled-information’. I watched it with zero expectations but came out wishing I had worn adult diapers.

#8Kapoor & Sons – I am not ashamed to say that I cried like a bab- no, like a man. I cried manly tears. A very grounded and emotional take at a dysfunctional family. It had some of my favourite actors and actresses who gave such nuanced performances. Also, a surprise from Bollywood and also from the production house which is known for cheesy rom-coms.

#7Hell or High Water – The 2nd last entrant to my list. I like movies from the 50’s and 60’s because they are slow-burners and they give a lot of time to take in what all is happening. This movie took me back to those times while being grounded in reality. It had the grit of Western movies and tension of any great thriller movie. Ben Foster became the character and Chris Pine made a fine display of his acting prowess. Many might have not seen this movie but trust me, watch it.

#6Don’t Breathe – The last entrant to my last and I saw it last night. Coming from Evil Dead director Fede Alvarez, this movie again breathed life into the horror genre. Now I don’t have to only wait for James Wan to make a horror movie. Stephen Lang, as the blind man, absolutely knocks it out of the park.

#5Rogue One – You knew this was coming. Admit it. The Force was strong with this one. It was everything I wanted the Force Awakens to be. The grittiness and realistic nature really surprised me. Though flawed, it had an all-round amazing acting performance and an ending scene that will make you drool. Literally. Drool!

#4Deadpool – Captain Deadpool!! Setting the pace for all superhero movies to come, Deadpool brought back Ryan Reynolds. I have always liked Ryan Reynolds but he never got good movies. He campaigned for this, fought for it, leaked a test-footage and FINALLY, got it onto the big screen. Ryan Reynolds absolutely owned it as Wade Wilson/Deadpool. It felt like he was born to do this and this is to wishing he keeps doing this until it is physically possible for him.

#3Aligarh – This movie was about to go unnoticed by Indians, thanks to the regressive certification board but somehow it got noticed. From Amitabh Bachchan to Sushant Singh Rajput, everyone went gaga about this. It received multiple international awards. Showed the harsh side of the Indian society, removed the cliched portrayal of gay characters in movies and again made me cry manly tears. Beautiful performances by Manoj Bajpayee and Rajkumar Rao. A must watch and a message to all mainstream directors and actors to take on these subjects so that more and more people become aware about this.

#2Pink – Another revolutionary movie this year, Pink injected the need for change in our Indian society and put up a mirror infront of us. Aniruddha Roy Chowdhury makes an amazing Bolly debut. Amitabh Bachchan again shows everyone who’s the boss and why he is the boss. I salute to you, sir.

Before I mention my top pick, here are some honourable mentions. There were many amazing movies this year, and I actually picked those which had re-watch value. I had to shuffle between these movies a lot before I made this list. Here they are –

Wazir, Zootopia, Hush, Fan, Star Trek Beyond, The Jungle Book, Dr.Strange, Raman Raghav 2.0, Airlift, The Handmaiden, Sully, Baar Baar Dekho, M.S. Dhoni-The Untold Story.

Now, for my top-pick. Drum-rolls please. No? Ok.

#1Captain America : Civil War – This movie had everything I wanted from a summer blockbuster. From intricate action set-pieces to compelling drama to acting performances that humanised superheroes and gave us the best Spider-man ever. Marvel did it again. Seriously. That airport scene, man. Worth watching it twice on the big screen and innumerable times on the Blu-ray. Here’s to 1000 more years of amazing Marvel movies.

If you have some movies that you think are the best movies of 2016 then mention it in the comments and cheers or hurrah or huzzah to an amazing year of cinemas.

